Another Year Gone

It's hard to believe that another year has come and gone.  At the beginning of the year, God placed on my heart Ephesians 5:15-16 as His verse for me for the year "Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men, but as wise, making the most of your time, because the days are evil" (Eph. 5:15-16, NASB).

The verse begs the question, did I make the most of my time?  I wish that I could answer with a resounding yes, but I can't.  I can look back over the last 12 months and see too many times in which a few minutes, an hour or two, or a day has slipped away, never to be regained again.  The time lost did nothing to help the Kingdom grow, nothing to help me draw closer to God, nothing to make me a better follower of Christ, a better husband, a better dad, a better minister, a better friend.  It can't be reclaimed, and there are no do-overs.  It's gone forever.  Perhaps I can be more sensitive to this in 2010, perhaps we all can.  Our time here on earth is short, each moment precious, we must make sure we are doing everything we can to redeem the days, to do what should be done, to say what must be said, so that as we reach the end of our earthly days, we can look back with no regrets and knowing we have done everything that Christ has asked.  We must invest wisely and be deliberate with each choice, whether it be how we spend our time, how we spend our money, how we think our thoughts, or how we use our words.  Each will be accounted for in eternity.  I am grateful that God's grace is sufficient for me when I fail…it is indeed amazing!

Leave a Reply

